Thursday, August 11, 2011

GBC Diaries 2011: Entry 10

Thursday, August 11, 2011

Well, I never actually got around to writing any more journal entries about camp...I left on Saturday and then didn't write more.
I don't have a whole lot more to say than what I said in the journal entries...but that last one didn't seem a fitting end to this saga. lol :)
Oshie had a few family issues she wanted to talk to us about, but for the most part, I think she may have just wanted to talk to us. :) But...11:00 at night is not the time to do it. Haha :P
Just last night, I was thinking about how much God has blessed me in allowing me to be involved with this camp. It always teaches me so much...I feel closer to God while I'm there, I gain lots of experience in many different areas, I get to meet plenty of new people, I am forced out of my comfort zone, and hey, I even get to mention it on job applications! :) I am so thankful for the two weeks of my summer which are reserved for GBC :) <3
May I just say...I can't wait till I'm old enough to be a Senior Counselor? :) All summer, baby.... ^_^
Thanks for reading my camp-oriented ramblings! :)

GBC Diaries 2011: Entry 9

Saturday, July 30, 2011   7:59a.m.

Good morning! Well, today is my last day of camp! :) / :(  I'm happy to go home and see my family and friends, but I'm so sad to leave! :(
I've had so many good experiences these past two weeks! Hopefully they'll help me later in the future when I might need experience in a specific area or something.
Last night, Laura and I talked with Oshie for like, an hour! I think she just needed someone to talk to...I'll tell you more about it laster, but I need to go now. :)
8:05a.m.

[That whole post was written upside down, by the way...oh the trials of writing in the dark. lol]

Wednesday, August 10, 2011

GBC Diaries 2011: Entry 8

Friday, July 29, 2011   7:25a.m.

Buenos dias! Sorry I didn't write yesterday! I kinda...*ahem*...fell asleep yestermorning...
Anywhosies, my devotional went pretty well on Wednesday night! :) I mean, it wasn't perfect, by any means, but it was better than last week's. :) I stumbled around at the beginning and felt like I had some sort of mental block, but then everything got smoother as it went along. :)
Last night was our cabin outing! We had a lot of fun! And then, one of the girls in our cabin - Olivia - got saved! :) It was really exciting! Laura talked to her for a while earlier in the day, and then Michelle prayed with her last night. She was so happy and was telling everyone in the cabin. :) Olivia has some kind of mental retardation or something (it's not too severe, but it's there), and it was so great to watch how sweet the other girls were to her! They congratulated her, and cheered for her, and one of the girls offered to give Olivia her Bible. I was so proud of them. :)
Today is our last full day of camp!! :( I'm really going to miss being here. But I'm looking forward to seeing my family and friends again. :)
Oh yeah, haha! Last night after lights out, Laura and I took showers, and then Michelle came in to take her shower. And then Laura and I needed to talk to her about something serious that we were concerned about. After we had talked, Michelle, somewhat randomly, told us (and acted out) this story about her getting a black eye. So then, we're all in the bathroom at llike, 10:30, cracking up (but having to be quiet because there are 8 sleeping girls right outside the door), and we can't stop. It was hilarious! Plus, Michelle still had black soot all over her face, so it made the situation even more comical! It was so funny... :)
But...maybe you had to be there... ;)
Well, I don't think I have anything else to write about...so adios for now!
7:49a.m.

P.S. Girls in my cabin week 2: Jenna, Gabby, Hannah, Emily, Oshie, Faith, Olivia, Marinda :)

Saturday, August 6, 2011

GBC Diaries 2011: Entry 7

Wednesday, July 27, 2011   1:34p.m.

Yo! So...I'm on break right now and I just got to utilize the computer in order to check Facebook and email! Yay! haha :) And now I'm watching 'Over the Hedge" and writing in my journal! :)
Anywho...tonight is skit night. I think my cabin's skit is actually going to be decent tonight! Haha :)
So...I got a terrible sunburn at the beach, and now it's peeling super badly... :( AND my toenail came off and now it's growing back really weird :( WAAAH!!! Okay..yes...I'm complaining... :( :)
Anyway...I am VERY excited about crafts today :) I love talking to Danielle! And my bookmark looks really cute...if I do say so myself...lol :)
So, Rory and I have been having this war in which we stick our tongues out at each other Whoever does it first, gets a point. I'm at 15, and he's at 20. lol
Ok, whistle blew! Gtg! :)
2:00p.m.

Friday, August 5, 2011

GBC Diaries 2011: Entry 6

Wednesday, July 27, 2011   7:59a.m.

Good morning! :)
So...today has been declared "wacky hair day" by the JC girls. :) I french-braided my hair upside down...it's pretty sweet. I can't wait for the girls to wake up and see it's craziness! lol :) Laura's hair looks hysterical, too :P
Anyway, tonight is my devo for this week! Laura did hers last night, and it went really well. :) I'm going to have to be careful not to be comparing my devotional to hers :) I do feel like it's going to go better than last week's...
Well, everyone is up now, so ttyl! :)
8:05a.m.

Thursday, August 4, 2011

GBC Diaries 2011: Entry 5

Tuesday, July 26, 2011   7:36a.m.

Hola! Sorry I haven't written in a while...
Well, on Sunday, Juliet had to leave because she was sick. :( I miss her! (And I wasn't even in her cabin this year!) And Miss Shelley left on Sunday, too. :( I wish she could've stayed for the whole two weeks...
Anyway, the JC outing was pretty fun! :) We went to Walmart, the mall, and an ice cream place :) We watched "Captain America" at the mall theater. I wouldn't advise watching it without Clearplay or TVGuardian or something, though. There wasn't a ton of language, but Laura and I were getting uncomfortable. And then, (this was pretty cool) I was like "Okay...I'm leaving after one more word...". Laura agreed with me, andthen for a long time there wasn't any language. But then the main character said a bad word, and Laura and I looked at each other like "uh...I don't know..." and then, in the same sentence, he said it again! So, it was kinda like God was saying "Oh, you're not sure? Okay..." BAM! Haha :) It was kind of embarrassing to leave, but Laura and I were glad we did. And we'll just watch it later with a language filter. :)
So, anyway, this week I have mini golf for 4th period instead of "work period". :)
And I still LOVE working at crafts! I get to make leather pieces and talk to Danielle! It's so fun! :) Last week, I made a keychain and a bracelet, and this week I'm making a keychain for my mom and a bookmark. :)
Yesterday, all the JC girls wore glitter eye make-up that we bought at walmart on our outing. :) But Mr. Jon said we couldn't put it on the guys even though Sky and Stanley said it was okay with them. :( lol
Oh my goodness! I forgot to tell you about my friend, Laura! haha :) Well, now that her cabin (Sarah's Tent) is closed [because Juliet had to leave], she is in Esther's Palace with me and Michelle! :) It's really fun sharing a cabin. :)
Ok, well I am tired of writing, so ttyl! :)
7:57a.m.
~Beth

GBC Diaries 2011: Entry 4

Saturday, July 23, 2011   7:29a.m.

Hey! So, yesterday was our last full day of camp. :( The campers are going home today. I'm gonna miss the girls in my cabin...like, a lot! But hopefully next week will be good, too!
Last night, during cabin devos, several of the girls shared some problems they have at home. It was really sad. I'll definitely need to be praying for them...
Tonight is going to be the JC outing! I'm really excited! :)
I really wish Mr. Tony and Miss Sue weren't leaving today! I very much want them to do chapel next week, too! but maybe I'll like the other chapel leaders, too. :)
Well, I don't really feel like writing more...so, adios!
7:36a.m.

p.s. My hair looked cute yesterday! At camp! Can  you believe it?! Haha :P

Wednesday, August 3, 2011

GBC Diaries 2011: Entry 3

Friday, July 22, 2011   7:25a.m.

Why hello there! ^_^
Well, last night's outing went very well. It was a lot of fun! Since our cabin's name is "Esther's Palace", Michelle came up with a kind of scavenger hunt for the girls to do, and we were being "chased" by "palace guards". It was SO fun! :) And all of us had crowns that we wore because we were princesses. :) We had to rub ash all over our faces so the guards wouldn't recognize us...that was pretty funny. :)
Michelle did a great job on the devotional last night. She presented the Gospel after talking about the prodigal son. It was really good, but the girls didn't seem to respond. but God can still use it in their hearts later. :)
I was supposed to come up with a game to play while Michelle got the fire ready. I was going to do Sardines, but we were on this hill with like, one tree, so that didn't work out. But I had a stick for this little challenge game thing that we did last year in a JC meeting. But that only lasted a couple minutes, so I had to think of something else. (I really should've been better prepared...) So, I was like "Fax Machine!". We had a lot of fun playing that. :)
I felt like I got to know some of the girls better last night. :) Like, Lilli and I talked quite a bit last night. Not anything deep, but it was nice. :)
When we were back at the cabin, Amber and Lilli asked me if I had a boyfriend, and when I said "no", they were like, "Why? Because no one likes you or because you don't want one?". I said because I don't want one, and then I almost got to share my views on having relationships at such a young age, but they were hyper and just wanted to quiz me on who liked me. Haha. But I'm holding out ohope that I'll get to give them some advice on dating before they leave! Lol, they will be needing it, seeing as how some of htem already claim to be "in love" with someone...one of the JC guys, in fact! :P It's kinda funny, though...
Today, I am going to attempt to blow dry and straighten my hair! I will let you know how it goes! Haha. :)
Well, I'd better be going...not that I have anything else to do...while sitting here in the dark cabin with sleeping campers. Lol. Anyway! Bye!
7:49a.m.

P.S. Happy 17th Birthday, Matt!!! :)

GBC Diaries 2011: Entry 2

Thursday, July 21, 2011   7:24a.m.

Good morning! :) So...last night was my devotional. It didn't really go that well. :/ The girls just weren't that interested. But, I know that they can still learn something, even if it doesnt seem like they're listening.
Also, I now feel like I will do a better job next week because I learned from last night. And I think I'm going to ask Michelle if I can use one of her giant Post-It notes... :)
I feel like I actually took quite a bit away from my devotional! It was about finding your identity and worth in Christ rather than in material things (looks, talents, grades, possessions, etc.). I really struggle with that...so it was a good reminder to me of how special I am to God.
So anyway, today I am "girl #1" on the JC chore list thingy. I like these jobs...they're the easiest, in my opinion. :) Instead of washing dishes and stuff, we just have to wipe down tables! But then we have other chores. But yeah...I like being girl #1 or #2.
Last night was skit night! I had wooden arms and then Michelle got turned into a beaver and started "chewing" on my arms. Lol! :) The skit was cute.
Well, I think I'm gonna read some Karen Kingsbury for awhile. Bye!
7:39a.m.

Tuesday, August 2, 2011

GBC Diaries 2011: Entry 1

Wednesday, July 20, 2011   7:26a.m.

Why hello there! I have decided (about two seconds ago) to keep a Grace Bible Camp journal! (no need for applause, please). I thought it would be a pretty neat idea! :) I wish I had started this last year...
Anyway, this is my second year of working as a JC at GBC! Last year, I was in Sarah's Tent. This year, I'm in Eshter's Palace, which is the oldest cabin. :) It's quite different from the last age group (3rd grade). But I like it a lot...in fact, I might prefer this age. I'm not sure yet. :) All I know is: with the third grade girls, I didn't have them talking about liking a JC guy, asking for *ahem* "feminine products", or having to have a "powow" with the Sr. Counselor because of attitudes and arguments between one another. But...I kind of enjoy this stuff, to an extent. I know, I know...I'm an odd human being...
Anywho, tonight is when I will be doing my devotional in my cabin. I'm nervous, but honestly, I'm very excited, too! :) I asked God to give me the age group that would get the most of my devo, and just the cabin he wanted me in. So, I am very confident that this is exactly where He wanted me, and I can't wait to see what transpires within the next days of camp this week.
My SC [Senior Counselor] this year is Michelle. She is SO awesome! She's a lot of fun, and she does a great job with devos, and iwth keeping the girls in line. :) I also lover her cabin decorations, which consist of giant flip flops and giant post-it notes! :)
I really like the girls in my cabin, as well. :) Their names are: Lilli, Amber, Grace, Naty, Denae, Haley, Natalie, Zoey, and Leah. Ihope that maybe I can keep in touch with some of them after camp.
This week, the chapel leaders are Mr. Tony and Miss Sue! *cheers* :D And the theme for this week's chapel is The Ten Commandments :) I remember it from when I was a camper. :) My favorite chapel theme, though, remains to be The Fruit of the Spirit. :)
My activity periods (that I'm helping with) this week are Nature, Leather Crafts, and then instead of a 4th period activity, I have extra chores. I actually really like that. I had "work period" last year, too, and I enjoyed it because I got to know the other JC really well. :) I hope that happens again this year.
Well, this is getting to be a bit long, so I will cease to move my pen across this page. Adios!
7:52a.m.

GBC Diaries 2011

Yo! So...I know, I know...I haven't written in a while. But hey, I'm gonna make up for that! :) Well, I definitely wanted to post on here about my experiences at camp...but I was like "dude...I'm never going to remember everything I wanted to tell!!" So then, I decided to write in my journal a lot while I was at camp, and then when I got home, I would post my journal entries on my blog! :D So...that is what I plan to do! ^_^ That's what I did when I went to Mexico, and it worked pretty well :)
Anyway, I will post my first entry in a little while...but I also wanted to say that I had a BLASSSSTT at the beach with Laura! :D We have spent three weeks straight together...first the beach, and then camp! :) It was soooo much fun!!! I love her! <3 (Thank you, dear Laura, for inviting me!) :) We did some crazy fun stuff...like setting up pranks for Laura's family at 2a.m.....and dancing the Cupid Shuffle and Cha Cha Slide on the beach (trying to get other people to join us ;)....and laying out in the sun (and getting SUNBURNED!!!), and swimming in the ocean (of course), and eating junkfood, and cooking a good meal, and taking pictures, and watching SCARY MOVIES!!!! Yeah...we had a BLAST! :) I'll hopefully post pictures of my summer later on... :)

Okey dokey...now I will move on to the first camp journal entry :)......