Thursday, October 27, 2011

This weekend

is very exciting for me!! I have so much going on and...it's all super duper fun! :)

Okay, so Friday night is an event at our church called FunForAll. It's a kids program as an alternative to Halloween. :) The kids dress up and come to the church for games, candy, bounce houses, and a Bible story time. :) It's a lot of fun for the kids AND the helpers! ^_^ Last year I dressed up as a superhero, and I did facepainting. (Which was cool because that's one of the things I ended up helping with at the carnivals we hosted on our missions trip this summer) :)
This year, I don't have a costume. :( I am quite saddened by this fact. But hey, I'll still have fun! :) I think I'm doing face painting again this year!! Yay! ^_^

And then on Saturday, Ben and I are going to help with GROW club. It's a program that some people from our church started a few years ago downtown as an outreach to children there. It's so neat, and I got to interact with a lot of these kids during our missions trip. I've been wanting to go to GROW club, but haven't been able to until this Saturday. So yeah...I'm pretty excited about it. :) You could be praying for the kids to listen to the lesson, and pray for the guy who is giving it (Josh), and that we will all be good examples to the kids. That would be greatly appreciated! :)

On Saturday evening (GROW club ends at 4ish), beginning at 4 (!), there is a medieval dance that I am going to! I cannot wait!! I'm dressing up as a pirate. It's going to be so much fun! I have a couple of friends whose costumes are going to be so epic...but it's a secret, so I'll have to tell y'all about it later... ;)

I'm also really looking forward to Sunday because I get to be in the service! Yay! :) I work in a children's class every other Sunday, and lately we seem to have been gone on all the Sundays when I'm NOT working in a class, so I feel like I haven't been in the service in a long time... So, I'm happy about that. And also, I'm looking forward to an entire afternoon in which I have nothing to do! ^_^ I think I shall either take a nap or read a book... :)

Last Sunday was really really fun. I was at Jacob's birthday party (he is 18 now!!! O.O ) and a song from The Lion King was playing (I just can't WAIT to be kiiiiing! ;) ), and then Me, Erin, and Matt (and I think Alek?) were discussing how Matt had never seen that movie (*gasp!!*). So...long story short, I invited Erin, Matt, and Alek to come over to watch The Lion King at my house on Sunday afternoon. Erin, sadly, could not come :(((( But Alek and Matt did, and we had a blast :) We ate pizza, listened to random music, watched the movie, unloaded my family's van from camping, and then played video games. :) It was so fun. :) My guy friends are THE BEST! Just saying...like....y'all might have guy friends, too...but mine are better. haha ;) I'm a little prejudiced, I suppose, though... :P

Anywhosies...I should probably end this and go read or something :) OH! I finished Wuthering Heights (by Emily Bronte) today!! It was really good! And incredibly weird...but still good! :) And tomorrow I'm starting 1984 by George Orwell. This is my favorite thing about being homeschooled: I get to pick out the classics I read for school! :)

Okay, well, ttyl! Ipml! ;) Hope you all have a wonderest, spectacumous, fabular, awezing, amasome, perfect weekend! ^_^

~Beth

Friday, October 14, 2011

I haven't posted in a while,

have I? :(
Okay, well, I just wanted to share what has been going on in my life lately. :) 
I'm not sure if I've posted about this before or not, but practically all my life I have been afraid of growing up. I mean, there are certain things I've always looked forward to (having a boyfriend, getting married, having kids, decorating my own home). But even with those things, there was always this nagging feeling in the back of my mind: "What if I never get married?! What if God wants me to be a missionary and I have to live in Africa by myself? What if, what if, what if?!?!". And also, I've been TERRIFIED of going to college. I had NO idea what I was going to major in, and therefore no idea what I was going to do after I graduated, either! I mean...I like making coffee and sandwiches and all, but that's not exactly what I want to do for the rest of my life! ;) 
Well, a week or two ago, my mom and I were talking about different occupations I could possibly have. My mom has mentioned to me several times that she thinks I would be good at cosmetology, but I didn't believe her. I was like "but...I don't know how to cut people's hair!" And then she pointed out to me that that's why you go to cosmetology school and they TEACH you how to cut hair! (duh! *facepalm*) So then, I was like "Ooooh....that would be really neat!!! I think I would enjoy that!" Okay, so then all kinds of possibilities presented themselves in my mind: Go to cosmetology school, work in a hair salon, get married, have kids, cut people's hair at my house, not have to send my husband or children to hair dressers (save money! ^_^), have occupation after kids move out, etc. So then I'm like...WHOA! This is soooo cool!!!! 
But wait! It gets better!
On Sunday, a lady spoke to my parents' Sunday school class, and she shared about a missions trip she had recently gone on to Mexico (awwww...I miss it...). And one of the things she shared about was how this group of hair dressers went to a migrant camp and worked on the people's hair. They cleaned it (which included removing the lice) and then cut it and everything. When my mom told me about this, I was like, "Wow!! I would LOVE to do something like that!!" I just think it would be about the coolest thing ever! I mean, imagine how incredibly uncomfortable it must be to have such dirty hair and to constantly have lice in it. And then to have someone just out of the blue come and clean it for you? And even make it look pretty? That would be so neat! I mean, just because these people are living in such poor conditions doesn't mean they don't WANT to feel and look nice. It makes me so sad thinking about how they have to live. 
And another thing, think about how much one-on-one time that would provide to be able to witness to people! 
I totally need to be working on my Spanish. :)
So, after thinking about all of this for a while (Oh yeah, and I found out that I already have enough money in my college funds and stuff to be able to go to cosmetology school!), I realized that all of a sudden, I wasn't scared of my future anymore! I've always reminded myself that God has a plan for me, and He knows what it is, even if I am totally in the dark! And now I really see that. I also know that, this may not even be His plan for me. But if it isn't then He has something else! I really, honestly don't have to be so worried about it all. I'm not even scared of the possibility of not getting married, anymore! If I get married, that would be AWESOME! But if I don't, that would be awesome, too, because I would have more freedom to travel and go on missions trips and maybe even be a missionary! I'll just keep praying about it and see what happens. :)
So, lately, God has really given me a peace to trust Him with His plan for my life. And now, instead of being scared of the future, I'm so excited for it! :D 

~Jeremiah 29:11~
"For I know the plans I have for you," says the Lord. "Plans to prosper you and not to harm you. Plans to give you a hope and a future."