for a blog post! I haven't acknowledged the fact that I have a blog in quite some time now... O.o
I was about to say that, as usual, I don't actually have anything of value to say. But then I remembered something! (and I still wouldn't expect it to be of value..but at least it's something significant!) You know that missions trip I was planning on going on to Romania? Well...turns out I'm not going. Honestly, I had been feeling uneasy about the whole thing from the get-go. But after praying about it for a while, I assumed that God wanted me to go, and I was just naturally nervous. But as time went on, and I continued to pray about the trip, I realized that I was not going for the right reasons. The only part of the trip that I felt even remotely excited about was the traveling and the fact that I would be in anther country. And I should have also been excited about the ministry aspect of it! But instead, I was actually dreading the vast majority of the trip! I still don't know why, but I decided that it was a pretty sure sign that God didn't want me to go.
I also realized that if I went on the trip, I may not be able to go to camp! Which would be really sad. I realized that, for me, working at camp IS a missions trip! I'm serving God through serving the camp and the kids! And it's something that I'm passionate about, and I would like to do for a long time to come! So, I got my JC application in the mail yesterday, and it turns out that the best weeks for me to go were during the missions trip. :)
Since "backing out" of the trip, I have become even more certain that it was the right decision. There have been many neat things that have come to my attention since then that happened as a result of my not going on the trip. So, I feel pretty good about all of this. It was a very difficult decision, but I think it's what God wanted me to do. :)
Aaand, that's my story. Haha :)
Speaking of camp and being a JC and such.......I have some pretty exciting news! I have wanted to be a JC with my church since 6th or 7th grade, and Mr. Tony asked me a couple of weeks ago if I would like to do it this year! :D I'm so excited!!! :) This means I could potentially be at GBC for three weeks total this summer! ^_^
Anywho...hm...well, obviously the Superbowl was on Sunday night. Yeah, unfortunately I don't really get into football. But, I had a special friend over, and we had a lot of fun hanging out and talking ;) Although now I feel bad that he totally didn't get to watch the game... O.o
Teens Involved is in two weeks!!!!! Oh. My. Goodness. O.O I feel pretty unprepared. Although, I do feel better about the Tipos' song after this weekend. Until Saturday, we had only had one practice! But then we practiced for like, two hours on Saturday night, and I feel much better about it....but we have to perform in a Sunday School class this Sunday! Hopefully we're ready... :) This year we are singing "You Raise Me Up". (thank you, Jacob, for recommending the song!!) :)
And drama...well, I haven't even had one practice with what I'm doing, yet. So I feel EXTREMELY nervous about that. I mean...I'm only doing the "tech" aspect of it, so I'll probably just be operating a cd player, but I'm not good with short notice...haha :P But even if I fail epicly, it won't be the end of the world, right? I have already failed basically as much as it is possible to fail at TI (by laughing through half of our song), so it can't get any worse! ;)
One more thing real quick: my church showed this AMAZING video on Sunday night, and I think you guys should watch it! Yes, it is 33 minutes long, but it is SO worth the time! And it honestly doesn't even feel like it's that long. So here is a link to the website, and I hope you will take the time to watch it! :)
http://180movie.com/
Well, that's my post for today! I'm sure I will be posting more at some point in my life! But for now, I bid you farewell! :)
~Beth