Wednesday, January 28, 2009

day four

wednesday, 1-21-09 8:00am

sorry i didn't write yesterday! i was gonna write last nite after we got back from the adult outreach thing, but i was really sick. i threw up 3 times last nite! that's the first time i've thrown up in like, a year! yeah, unfortunately the first time was in the van on the way back from the outreach (thankfully someone had a bag!)
ok, anyway, the outreach wasnt' at a migrant camp. i thought it was gonna be, but it was actually in a neighborhood. the boys there were really mean! they would use the little kids to get more candy for them & food and all kinds of stuff. and all the kids tried to trick us into giving them more candy & food. then after we had been passing out food for, like, an hour, i started feeling sick. so i went and sat in the van pretty much the rest of the time. that ended up being scary b/c a man that was drunk tried 2 break into the van. but when mommy honked the horn, he went away. it was so scary b/c the door he tried to open had been unlocked just a few seconds b4! God definitely protected us!
yesterday @ lunch, mommy & i had kitchen duty. i did NOT like that! but oh well. yeah, we would have it again today, but since i have a fever we switched w/someone. we still have it 2morrow though. i think we're gonna call daddy 2day. i'm glad we're gonna do that! i still haven't really read any in 'return of the king'! i'm sure matt is going to be disappointed in me. i just can't concentrate on it! ok, i think i'll try reading some now.

lol, i didn't end up reading any! i was planning on reading alot while i was there, but i read like, one page all week!!!!!! it was pretty sad!
ok, i'm gonna tell the story with the drunk man a little better, i didn't do a good job in my journal. so i was feeling very sick and i had to go sit in the van. the first time laura and i sat in there together. then one of the ladies that was in charge made us get out b/c she knew it wasnt' really safe for us to be that far away from the rest of the group - even if we were locked in the van. (it was funny, she was about to go get the water that barry had bought for me and then come back, and laura and i were like, 'we're fine, u don't have to come back' and then she was like 'ur not as safe as u think...' it was scary, but it was funny too.) so we followed her back to the group. the ppl were watching a Jesus film right then and the lady wanted us to go sit with some of the kids. but i was so sick, i just couldn't. so i sat down on the ground (until bri's mom came over and informed me that the kids pee on the ground...). then mommy and i went back to the van and sat in there. i felt so much better just from sitting! but these boys kept banging on the back door of the van (it was a fifteen passenger van). they wouldn't stop banging and yelling! so mommy told me to lay down in the seat so they couldn't see us. then we just laid there and talked, eventually the boys stopped bugging us. then barry (the guy that was in charge of our group. he's with YWAM [youth with a mission]) came to get some glowsticks out of the front seat. he just opened up the door, and mommy was like, "oh! i didn't know u had another key!" and he was like, "i don't....it was unlocked." after he went back to the rest of the group, mommy locked the door. and then just a few seconds later this man started banging on the van and trying the doors. he was yelling 'maria! maria!' or something like that. then he tried barry's door! so if barry hadn't gotten those glowsticks, he would've gotten in! it was so scary! i didn't see him b/c i was still laying down on the seat, but mommy did see him. i'm kinda glad i didn't though, b/c that makes it a little less scary for me.
yeah, that nite wasn't very good....the kids were so mean too! oh my goodness! they just didn't seem thankful for the food and everything! i mean, we weren't doing it to get a 'gracias' from them, but i kinda thought they would thank us at least! but only like, five ppl said 'gracias' to me at least.
lol, wednesday when my fever had gone down, that afternoon we went to a child evangilism. and b4 we got in the van someone noticed that there was a bag sitting on the little wall next to the van. it had a rock sitting on it and the bag said 'barry's barf bag'! it was kinda embarassing! then someone told me i was the most graceful barfer they had ever seen! yeah, it was funny!
anyway, i'd better stop typing. i have to go wash dishes.
ipml!

~beth

5 comments:

VaQueenBee said...

Yes, Beth...you were an extremely "graceful barfer!" LOL I was so proud of the way you handled yourself that night.

Anonymous said...

I'm glad to find out that I have a graceful barfing granddaughter. Grandpa.

Anonymous said...

I am so glad that the door was locked at the end - that sounds like one of your stories :)

Anonymous said...

The entire thing was practically one giant run-on sentence! Sorry.

Beth said...

thank you mommy, i know, i'm probably the most graceful barfer in the world!

grandpa! you didn't know that? wow, i'm surprised! i mean, i'm in the news all the time!

me too! i'm very glad God protected us! what do u mean, that it sounds like one of my stories though?

thanks alot jacob. i really appreciate it.

~beth