Sunday, August 29, 2010

so, there was something

i wanted to write about...but i now cannot recall what it was.....
........
.................
............
.......................................................
...
..
.
oh yes. okay, so my dad has been collecting bags of coffee grounds from various places that make coffee in large quantities (i.e. starbucks, shell) because he had heard that these coffee grounds are good for soil (we have a large garden, by the way). so, he had collected so many bags of coffee grounds that we had this huge mountain of them in our blueberry patch! it was disgusting, lemme tell ya! but yesterday, we pulled up everything in our garden (cause most of it was finished producing) and then we were going to distribute the coffee grounds all over the garden and then daddy was going to till it (add coffee and stir, as daddy would say). this is what we did yesterday for four hours. it was very...ahem...interesting. i must say, rotten coffee grounds stink reeeeaallly bad. :P like, it's horrible. i could barely breathe! but my dad insisted, "you don't know stink!" haha :) but anyway, coffee grounds are really heavy, too! there were like, fifty bags at least, and we could only put like, two or three in a wheelbarrow at a time, and even that was really heavy. so yeah, it took a long time, and it was painful. and i got sunburn and my hands are sore. lol :P but my mother and i were talking yesterday, when we had finished in the garden, about how we should be thankful that we're healthy enough to do hard work like that. even if it's not enjoyable, we should still be thankful that we CAN do it! plus, it made me think of the people in other countries, take mexico for example, who have to work in strawberry fields all day, and only make fifty cents an hour! and they don't get any of the produce even! it's so sad, and it makes me thankful that i don't have to live like that. even though i don't usually enjoy working in the garden, i always feel really good afterward because i feel like i've accomplished a lot. plus, i do enjoy the produce from the garden :)

anyway, that was quite a lot of babbling on and on, and i apologize. haha

so, i'm pretty pumped cause tonight we're having this homeschool ice cream social thingy after church! yay! :D i love ice cream! jk, i'm excited cause i get to hang out with my friends. in fact, haha, it's so funny, usually at these ice cream socials, i get a bowl of ice cream, and then i can't finish it and one of my guy friends finishes it for me (cause, you know, guys are bottomless pits...). yeah, i have this weird problem where i have trouble eating with other people (besides my family, thankfully!!! lol). i think the problem is that i talk too much, actually...lol! that and i get so hyper sometimes that i just can't eat! lol!

yeaaaah...well, i think i'm gonna stop typing now because y'all are probably like, "what on earth is wrong with her! why does she think we want to hear all this?!" haha

ipml!!! ;)

~beth

Thursday, August 26, 2010

well, today

i went walking/jogging with my good friend, morgan. she's totally awesome:) and we're "twins" because we're so much alike ;) her family and my mom and i are doing this thing called "Couch to 5K" and yeah, it's pretty cool. we have to do a 25 minute alternating-thingy between walking and jogging. well, that's THIS week, but then next week it'll be harder. anyway, this morning i got up at 6a.m. so we could get to the track by seven (you know, it takes me thirty minutes to get ready...and if i take a shower, it's like, two hours! jk, more like, an hour and a half.). yeah, it felt awesome outside at such an early hour. and by the time we got there i was in good spirits...not quite as asleep as i had been when i first arose. I felt SO wonderful after exercising, though! it was awesome, man! lol :P i've decided that i actually enjoy exercising, but i've just never HAD to do it before, so i never really exercised on a regular basis. so yeah. i'm excited! lol :)
well, i gotta go! ipml!!

~beth

Tuesday, August 24, 2010

this is the story

of my life. my life as it usually is. it is a sad, sad thing. my clumsiness, plus my brother's evilness...it equals disaster.

Anyway, I simply wanted to inform you of how my life has taken a turn for the worse in recent days. On Sunday afternoon, before we ate lunch, I was munching on cucumbers. Simply minding my own business. In fact, I was being obedient! My parents had actually TOLD me to eat those cucumbers! Anyway, these were vinegar-soaked cucumber slices. And being the um..frugal person that I am, I did not feel a need to waste a perfectly clean plate on cucumber slices, and therefore I simply ate them out of the container (which was filled almost to the top with vinegar). As I was contentedly enjoying these cucumbers, my brother, Benjamin, decided that he wanted some. SO HE TRIED TO STEAL ONE!!! As you can imagine, I was not pleased by this outburst. In fact, I was quite DISpleased. Therefore, I tried to protect my precious vegetables. In the process of performing this noble deed, I.........spilled the vinegar all over my lap. IT BURNS REALLY BAD, PEOPLE! Vinegar and skin are not meant to come in contact with one another!!! Plus, this vinegar spilled all over the counter and the floor, as well. For a few moments I simply sat there in shock. But then I felt compelled to clean up this mess. Well, actually, my parents told me to....while they laughed at me. (In a good-natured way. Although Ben, on the other hand, I am sure was laughing at me quite evilly, thinking "HA! my plan worked!"). Anyway, I cleaned up the vinegar and washed my legs off, and returned to my normal routine.

Then, on Sunday evening, after church, I attended an afterglow. At this afterglow, there was food. And this food was meant to be placed on a plate. A styrofoam plate. I chose to consume (or at least, I desired to consume) Skittles, Sour Skittles, M&M's, two cookies, and some Doritos. I placed them on a plate. A styrofoam plate. I ate several Skittles, and possibly a few M&M's. I calmly (well, as calmly as possible at an afterglow) followed my dear friends downstairs and outside. Once we had reached our desired destination (the patio), we (Bri, Laura, and I) stood there and had a lovely conversation (well, actually I don't remember what it was about...but I'm sure it was lovely). Whatever the conversation, at some point, Bri said something worthy of a hi-5, and therefore, being the good friend that I am, I eagerly gave her one! Or at least, I tried to do so. Unfortunately, my plate, a styrofoam plate, got in the way of my hand, and I inadvertantly flung its contents all over my dear friend, Bri. I felt quite embarrassed. Not to mention the fact that I lost all of my food except one cookie that Bri somehow managed to catch. Thank you, Bri, and I am terribly sorry for this mishap.

Saturday, I got our lawnmower stuck in a ditch.

Tonight, I was instructed to carry the leftover soup from tonight's dinner to the downstairs refrigerator. I was in the process of doing so when I noticed Ben's evil smile. I then noticed my iPod sitting next to him. Therefore I calmly told him, "DON'T TOUCH MY IPOD!!!!". At this, his face fell noticeably. Then he decided to torture me by following behind me as I ventured down to the basement. It was quite annoying, the paranoia that he might, at any moment, tickle me as I carried this large pot of soup. But that was the least of my worries. Along the way to the refrigerator, he discovered a dead lizard. He picked it up and teased me about it (although he somehow thought it was a frog...) until I was paranoid that he would shove it in my face. Therefore I ran the rest of the way to the refrigerator. As soon as my back was turned to put the pot of soup in its rightful place, apparently, Ben tossed this lizard onto the top of my head. I did not notice this. As soon as the pot was safely on a shelf, I whipped around to make sure the lizard was still where it should be - in Ben's hand. It was not. Seeing this, and Ben's evil smile and hysterical laughter, I screamed and jumped up and down and shook my head to rid it of this disgusting thing. It fell on the floor, and I was immediately quite angry with my...ahem...dear brother. Therefore I grabbed a 2x4 (except that it wasn't a 2x4 because it was shorter...but I do not know the exact measurements) and chased Ben around the basement and eventually upstairs with it. Then he proceeded to lock himself in his room until I gave up. Later, as he told our mother about this occurance, she told me, "Homicide is not the answer." A wise piece of advice that every human being should heed.

I am sorry if i have bored you with all of these stories. but i simply thought it might be funny to other people who have not had the...ahem...pleasure of experiences such as these. And keep in mind, that this sort of thing happens to me on a regular basis. If you are ever bored, simply ask me if i have had any klutzy or odd experiences, and i will be happy to entertain you for a couple of hours.

well, ipml!! :)

~beth

Monday, August 16, 2010

i still need to tell you guys about camp!!!

i'm so sorry it's taken me so long to get to this! :P i had an amazing time! it was one of the best times of my life! :)

so, my senior counselor, juliet, was pretty awesome! i loved her :) and all my campers were great! i was closer to the girls in my cabin the first week than the girls the second week, but all of them were awesome! they really liked my devotional...in fact, i kinda felt bad about how much they liked it! juliet did the devos all the other nights, but after mine, the girls were like "miss beth! are you going to do the devotional tomorrow night, too?!" "that was the best devotion ever!" etc. haha :) it was kinda funny, but i felt bad for juliet :( the only reason they liked mine better was because it involved toothpaste! ;) omw! juliet actually got the toothpaste back in the tube! i was NOT pleased with her! :((( lol! it was soooo funny though! she completely destroyed the object lesson! i was like "um...well, okay, BESIDES juliet (because she's just weird), no one can get the toothpaste back in the tube, right?" haha :)


we had an amazingly fun time on the JC outing, too! we went bowling first (which i was hoping we could go rollerskating, but oh well...). i'm terrible at bowling, so i embarrassed myself, as usual. lol :) then we went to the mall food court to eat dinner, and then we just hung out in the mall for an hour. that was SOOOO fun!! they had this thing called a "hurricane simulator" and three of the guys (toto, waylon, and steven) all got in it and paid two dollars to do it. it was lame. but then we all got in at the same time just to see if we could. THAT was fun! we couldn't close the door though, until two of the guys got out. we also had a stalker! :O lol :) he was sitting on a bench at the mall, and he thought we were all crazy. he saw waylon galluping around the mall pretending to be a horse, and he was like "and i thought I was crazy!" and then eventually he had to take a picture of us, and he was like "i'm seriously going to blow this up really big and post it on my office wall!" um...creepiness! and he said we were the "craziest gang he'd ever seen". lol! but that's not even the weird part! after the mall, we went to walmart and then out to ice cream. at the ice cream place, we were all out in the parking lot waiting for miss shelly to turn up "the song" really loud so we could dance to it. then all of a sudden, this guy walks over, and it's the guy from the mall!! it was SO weird!!! we called him "the stalker guy" the rest of the week. lol :) oh, at walmart, we had sword fights, and hula hoop contests, and we played with bouncy balls. also, everyone bought stuff, so i bought duct tape (i was INCREDIBLY disappointed though, because they didn't have any cool colors!!! :((( ) and chocolate milk. lol :) then we watched waylon waste his money on one of those machines that you pay a quarter and you try to pick up a toy or whatever. he did this so many times, he probably just coulda bought the thing he was trying to get, with all the money he spent! lol

anyway, i think i decided that my favorite after meals chore was loading and unloading the dishwasher. it was fun because it was easy, and in between loads, i could just help the other girls with their chores. and we were so goofy and weird the whole time, we had a blast! :) my favorite morning chore (i think) was vacuuming the office building. i liked that because it did not involve cleaning bathrooms. lol :)

during activity time, i had archery 1st period, JC meeting 2nd period, leather crafts 3rd period. and then the first week, i had "work" 4th period. this was just random extra chores. lol :) but it was SO fun cause i did it with another JC girl, named rachel, and we were able to talk a LOT. :) then the second week i had nature for 4th period. i loved nature cause steven and i always had SO much fun!! but it was annoying because i always had to leave thirty minutes early to set up for dinner. so i would like, be at the creek and be soaked because steven and i just had a huge splash war, and then lauren (who was teaching nature) would be like "hey, beth, you need to get to the dining hall!" whoops. lol :) it was okay, though.

the cabin outing night was always fun. we went to the creek and juliet and i painted ourselves with rock paint :) the second week, on the outing, one of the girls got saved! it was really cool :) i even got to talk to her about it, to make sure she really meant it and everything. she said she did, but you know, it's really hard to tell when a kid is that young, if they really understand or not. but it's still awesome! :)

so yeah, it was pretty awesome being at camp! :)

then this past thursday, we went camping with some freinds of ours. we had an awesome time! especially on saturday when everyone was there. so laura, erin, jacob, matt, and i all hung out together all day. and then for part of the day some other friends of ours (who were at a different part of the campground) hung out with us. we had a blast! oh, and we also had a surprise "birthday party" for matt. his sixteenth birthday was a couple weeks ago and he didn't get to have a party, so we wanted to do something special for him :) i think he had fun :)

yesterday, me, laura, matt, and jacob had a blast! we played like, one game of boggle, and then we played fax machine for a few hours. lol! it was SOOOO much fun!!  :)

oh, btw, we're starting school tomorrow :( lol, hopefully it won't be too bad.. :)

well, i gotta go! ipml!

~beth