Sunday, August 29, 2010

so, there was something

i wanted to write about...but i now cannot recall what it was.....
........
.................
............
.......................................................
...
..
.
oh yes. okay, so my dad has been collecting bags of coffee grounds from various places that make coffee in large quantities (i.e. starbucks, shell) because he had heard that these coffee grounds are good for soil (we have a large garden, by the way). so, he had collected so many bags of coffee grounds that we had this huge mountain of them in our blueberry patch! it was disgusting, lemme tell ya! but yesterday, we pulled up everything in our garden (cause most of it was finished producing) and then we were going to distribute the coffee grounds all over the garden and then daddy was going to till it (add coffee and stir, as daddy would say). this is what we did yesterday for four hours. it was very...ahem...interesting. i must say, rotten coffee grounds stink reeeeaallly bad. :P like, it's horrible. i could barely breathe! but my dad insisted, "you don't know stink!" haha :) but anyway, coffee grounds are really heavy, too! there were like, fifty bags at least, and we could only put like, two or three in a wheelbarrow at a time, and even that was really heavy. so yeah, it took a long time, and it was painful. and i got sunburn and my hands are sore. lol :P but my mother and i were talking yesterday, when we had finished in the garden, about how we should be thankful that we're healthy enough to do hard work like that. even if it's not enjoyable, we should still be thankful that we CAN do it! plus, it made me think of the people in other countries, take mexico for example, who have to work in strawberry fields all day, and only make fifty cents an hour! and they don't get any of the produce even! it's so sad, and it makes me thankful that i don't have to live like that. even though i don't usually enjoy working in the garden, i always feel really good afterward because i feel like i've accomplished a lot. plus, i do enjoy the produce from the garden :)

anyway, that was quite a lot of babbling on and on, and i apologize. haha

so, i'm pretty pumped cause tonight we're having this homeschool ice cream social thingy after church! yay! :D i love ice cream! jk, i'm excited cause i get to hang out with my friends. in fact, haha, it's so funny, usually at these ice cream socials, i get a bowl of ice cream, and then i can't finish it and one of my guy friends finishes it for me (cause, you know, guys are bottomless pits...). yeah, i have this weird problem where i have trouble eating with other people (besides my family, thankfully!!! lol). i think the problem is that i talk too much, actually...lol! that and i get so hyper sometimes that i just can't eat! lol!

yeaaaah...well, i think i'm gonna stop typing now because y'all are probably like, "what on earth is wrong with her! why does she think we want to hear all this?!" haha

ipml!!! ;)

~beth

4 comments:

Nancy said...

Fresh veggies YUM. We do have a lot of things to be thankful for here in the US. On of them being ice cream. :-) Hope you had a great time.

Anonymous said...

matt said...

hahahahahah,it has taken three years but it has happened. yes i have left a comment breaking the curse of shame put upon me. yes it is i the only and very hard to forget matt as i am called in this blog. now that i am on i break the shame laid upon me from two years ago when told to leave a comment about my "creepyness" or have shame forced upon me. well today i did. hahahahahahh i'm sorry but the fun of this is too much, i can just imagine your dad telling you to work like that. but i don't want to give people the wrong impression of me so. thought it was a great post and yes I'm very thankful for ice cream. it is just a blessing that some mastermind found out how to make it and bless us with its awsomenisity. but that is all i can say so bye..

oh and nancy if you see this thank you for the support and compliment back then.

matt

Beth said...

um...can I just say that I am thoroughly confused? Matt, I will be demanding an explanation from you tonight. haha. okay, what post were you talking about, anyway? I. Am. So. Confused. !!!!!!!!!!! lol

but thank you for complimenting my post. :) ttyl!

Beth said...

I understand now!!! yay! haha. You're not too creepy anymore, Matt. :P And you ARE cute. So there. See? I can be nice when I want to.
Aaaaand...you probably won't even see this. lol.